Hash, Inc. Forums

18 F glitches ?

I got a one year subscription to 18 F last friday and have been using it over the weekend. I wondered if anyone else is have a few glitches with it ?

The first one I noticed was that it crashed out if the maximum resolution was used for the maps in a z buffer render ?

It came with a message saying Memory allocation failute 11 ( I think )

If a lower z buffer was chosen it was OK. but the maximum crashed each time it was tried.

The second glitch came when trying to "save animation as" after rendering a sequence.

The dialogue box would appear but non of the buttons woulld respond when clicked on.

Tried exiting the program, restarting, importing sequence and trying again, but to no avail.

Have just spent the afternoon setting up the next scene but, when I started to do some render tests the time shot through the roof on quick render and, when trying to render to file it crashes after a few seconds.

It could easdily be me doing something foolish but is anyone else having similar troubles ?

OSX 10-68 so not a mavericks problem.

simon

Ips

I did copy the crash report that Apple made if thats any help ?

Update.

Just tried to replicate the z buffer problem. No luck, so that was probably me. Apologies.

Curiouser and curuioser,

Two hours ago I tried to render this scene, with the same settings, and stopped the render when the calculations in the panel, were heading up past 72 hours.

This one took about 5 mins.

The only difference, is that the parts of the model not in the view were hidden in this.

But, yesterday, the whole model was being used and the render times were approx 1:30 per frame?

simon

S3 F 000.png

Hi Simon
For me I found versions of 18 after "b" not worth the hassle of constant crashing. Unless of course there is some specific feature in "f" that you need.