Hash, Inc. Forums

General rig exploration

Rodney

• Admin

This is a branch off of John (aka Pitcher)'s topic about exporting rigs as I don't want to take that one off topic.

In that topic I was exploring the thought of using Named Groups to drive Control Point assignments to rigging.

To be honest I thought this was a really old methodology but in my review of the exercises from TaoA:M etc. I can't find any reference that actually uses that approach.

I ran a few tests and in my effort to explore more deeply (exploring the idea of having image settings drive CP weighting) ran afoul of using features I've never used before (resulting in a crash to the desktop). Ah, now we are getting somewhere! :)

So this topic is a placeholder to remind me of a topic I want to explore further.

If other newbies to rigging (like me) want to explore please feel free to join in.

I'm sure we can learn a ton in the process.

I will start by saying that upon review of TaoA:M Exercise #13 I had thought that Named Groups were used in that exercise.

I was wrong and the CPs were manually selected at the time of assignment to the Bones that had been imported into the Model.

Hmmm... now that makes me wonder where I got that memory of using Named Groups to assign Control Points to Bone Hierarchies.

that makes me wonder where I got that memory of using Named Groups to assign Control Points to Bone Hierarchies.

Have you ever read the Blender docs? For binding meshes to armatures, Blender uses vertex groups with names that match bone names. (That's one of two methods, the other is bone envelopes, aka capture regions.) Each vertex can be a member of multiple groups, and have an influence value in the range 0 to 1 for each of the groups.

would be a little faster some times (since you have to rename bones and groups not always) but it would create two possibilities to set cp weights which could lead to confusion. i would prefer a plugin wizard for that.

• Admin